A Couple of Announcements

ANNOUNCEMENT:

Starting Monday, September 19, 2011, I will be posting my column on publishing contracts on this blog, rather than on Pitch University. I had my posts removed from PU (appropriate, eh?) after my post was altered by the owner of the site.

In addition to posting my past posts and comments from reviews I have already done on contracts from Sourcebooks, Crescent Moon Press, and Entangled Publishing, I will resume reviewing the many different publishing contracts I have already received. The contracts that are not confidential or otherwise embargoed will be open for discussion and will be available as downloads.

I have been receiving quite a few contracts (which now include contracts from most of the NY houses) and will review each of them as my time allows and in the order in which they were received.

ANNOUNCEMENT:

A couple of days ago, Liz Pelletier, the publisher at Entangled, emailed me about my column, which she felt was inaccurate and unfair to Entangled. She also told me that the contract I reviewed was actually six months old and had never been used by Entangled – neither of which I knew, and neither of which is obvious from the contract. I have invited her to provide me with Entangled’s current contract and/or post a comment about my review so that she and I can have an exchange about my column and Entangled’s contract. We’ll see if she does.

And that experience brings me to this point, which I cannot emphasize enough. I have no bias for or against any publisher. In fact, I hadn’t even heard of some of these publishers before receiving their contracts. This is not a popularity contest. I am not paid to review, or not to review, any publisher’s contract. My purpose in writing these columns is to educate writers about the many pitfalls in publishing contracts and to make them aware of provisions that may be harmful to their careers. Writing is difficult enough without getting trapped stuck in a contract that will hurt, not help, your career.

I will have my columns, along with the comments and questions and my responses, posted here next week. Thank you for all your emails and for your continued interest.

5 responses to “A Couple of Announcements”

  1. murdersandmysteries says :

    Jeff,
    You are definitely on my stop by on Monday list now.
    I look forward to hearing what you have to say about different contracts.

  2. Jeffrey V. Mehalic says :

    Lindsay,

    Thank you, and I look forward to your comments and questions.
    Take care.

  3. Ruma Bhat says :

    This is an excellent article, I’ll definitely be sure to add your site to my bookmarks!

Leave a Reply

